Embajada en Holanda

Argentina Assumes G20 Presidency

The G20 is the premier global forum for economic and political cooperation. Throughout 2018, Argentina will welcome some 20,000 participants to its shores, and host the Leaders Summit.

Argentina is assuming the G20 presidency, the premier forum for global economic and political cooperation. Composed of 19 developed and emerging economies plus the European Union, the G20 confronts global challenges and looks to develope public policies to resolve them.

The calendar of events for the Argentine G20 presidency for 2018 will include over 50 meetings between representatives of various levels, and will focus on issues ranging from economics, finance, jobs, education, energy, agriculture, and others. Around 20,000 people will take part in these meetings, which will be hosted in 10 Argentine provinces over the course of 12 months, starting on 1 December 2017.




At the end of 2018, Argentina will host the Leaders Summit between heads of state and government. The summit closes with a joint declaration, the product of the work carried out over the course of the year. As holders of the presidency of the G20, Argentina will lead the agenda and seek to build a consensus that commits countries to a fair and sustainable development that generates opportunities for all.

Participating in the G20 meetings will be the delegations from two countries invited directly by Argentina: Chile and the Netherlands, as well as international organisations including the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, represented by Singapore; the Caribbean Community, represented by Jamaica; the African Union, represented by Rwanda; the Inter-American Development Bank; the World Bank; the Financial Stability Board; the Development Bank of Latin America; the International Monetary Fund; the United Nations; the Organisation for Co-operation & Economic Development; the International Labour Organisation; the World Trade Organisation; and the New Partnership for Africa’s Development, represented by Senegal.

Civil society will also have a voice and role at the G20 through a set of engagement groups comprised of representatives of society – including businesses, non-governmental organisations, labour unions, scientists, academics, women and youth organisations – that will convene and jointly convey recommendations of their topic area to the leaders of the G20 to shape the policy-making process.

Argentina’s presidency will be the first time the G20 is held in South America, which is a significant opportunity for the country to make a global contribution based on its regional perspective and voice. It will also allow the country to showcase its cultural diversity and natural beauty of its provinces, as well as the talent of its people.

About the G20

The G20 started out in 1999 as a meeting of Finance Ministers. In 2008, amidst the global financial crisis, it evolved into what it is today: a key international forum for consensus building and decision-making attended by the heads of state and government of the world’s leading economies. Together, its members represent 85% of global GDP, two-thirds of the world’s population and 75% of international trade.

Press contact:

Melina Pángare G20 Unit


Press information



For more information, please visit:

Web site: www.g20.org

G20 Brochure: 


Facebook: www.facebook.com/g20org

Twitter www.twitter.com/g20org